Frequently Asked Questions
Is your school and instructors certified by the State of Wisconsin?
Yes, our school and our instructors are State certified.
What is necessary to enroll?
Enrolling in a classroom can be done by either scheduling on-line or by calling Dave at (920) 373-2449
The Agreement for Services (Contract) is located in the Driving Resources tab, under Forms.
May I enroll in just the classroom or just the behind the wheel portion of the program?
Yes. You may enroll in either behind the wheel and/or classroom or both.
If classroom was taken through a different school, the student will need to finish the classroom training at the other school, provide a completion form from that school, and contact Dave (920) 373-2449 for scheduling behind the wheel lessons.
Where are the classroom sessions held?
We hold classes at Coleman, Crandon, Gillett, Laona, Oconto Falls, Suring, Pulaski, Wabeno, and Wausaukee. All classrooms are held at the public schools.
What is the length of the training program?
Classroom: After school classroom, includes 15 sessions of two hours each. Coleman, Wabeno, and Laona, classroom is held during their scheduled class period at their school.
How do I get my Instructional Permit? (Temps):
Students will be given the option to take the written test with us or they may go to the Department of Motor Vehicles. After the student has their temps, they may sign up for behind the wheel lessons.
What documents are needed to obtain the Instructional Permit?
Certified birth certificate, social security card, a completed application (MV3001) signed by the Driver Education Instructor.
How do I change a behind the wheel appointment?
You can change a behind the wheel appointment by:
Calling Dave at (920) 373-2449 at least 24 hours in advance.
Cancellations with less than 24 hour notice will be assessed a $50 penalty.
How do I schedule my behind the wheel training?
Scheduling the Behind the wheel lessons can be made by calling Dave at (920) 373-2449 or emailing firstname.lastname@example.org
The first lesson must occur within 60 days of receiving the Instructional Permit.
How often should my child take a road lesson?
The student must hold their instructional permit (temps) for a minimum of six months. I prefer to schedule the lessons over this six month period, typically one lesson a month. I guaranty that the students will be done within this six month period, as long as there are not continual cancellations. The first road lesson must be within 60 days of receiving the instructional permit.
Where and when is the student picked up for the behind the wheel lessons?
We try to accommodate the student's schedules. Students may be picked up at school or their residence.
Behind the wheel lessons can occur before, during, or after school, after school activities (practices / rehearsals / etc) and weekend lessons are also available.
DMV questions - How do I schedule my driving test?:
Road tests can be scheduled by going to the following web link: Wisconsin DMV Official Government Site - Schedule a road test appointment or follow the web address: http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/drivers/schedule.htm The road test can be scheduled up to 11 weeks in advance.
What type of payment do you take?
We accept cash, check, money order, and credit cards. Credit card payments must be on-line and must be for the full payment of classroom and/or behind the wheel lessons. Credit card will not be accepted for cancellations and NSF check fees.
By paying with credit card, you are choosing to forgo the cash discount of $0.00
When does full payment need to be made by?
Full payment must be made by the time the student takes their temps test.
If a payment plan needs to be made, contact us for more information.
Students will not receive their completion certificate until all fees have been paid.
What is 1st Rate Driving School's refund policy
1st Rate Driving School will not refund any tuition or part of tuition if the school is ready, willing, and able to fulfill its part of the agreement.